About the Department

The Department of Physics, initially established by the late Professor Raja Raja Verma in 1985 at Nazarathpet, caters to the basic foundational course in Engineering Physics, serving as a cornerstone for all Engineering streams. In the academic Year 1993-1994, the department underwent transformation and was renamed as APPLIED PHYSICS.

Over the years, the Department has been led by Professor. K. Viswanathan (1987-1997), Professor. S. Sampath Krishnan (1997-2017), Professor. A. Bhaskaran (2017-2023). Presently, the Department is headed by Dr. N.R. Sheela (From 2023 onwards).

Since 2008, The Department of Applied Physics has been recognized as an approved research centre by Anna University, Chennai. To date, nine students have been conferred with doctoral degrees from this research centre. The Department boasts well-equipped laboratories, proficient research supervisors approved by Centre for Research, Anna University and also from the Bharathiar University, Coimbatore and a dedicated faculty team.

The faculty members specialise in fields such as Material Science, Ultrasonic, Spectroscopy, Condensed matter physics and Environmental Science. We take pride in offering fundamental Science subjects to nurture the budding Engineering students and prepare them for future challenges.


motorchip aiflasksideasketch website toygearbiotechnologydata-complexitypromotioncomputersoftwareweb-design idea-1 creativitymicroscopechemistrymodelassemblyplay-outlined-circular-buttonpausecreative open-bookteamwork-team gaugegoallaboratory mathematicsatommechanicmicroscope-1 factory sketch-1 charitysystempistonscruise envelopefacebook-placeholder-for-locate-places-on-mapssmartphone-callold-typical-phoneuserantennacoding computers-network-interface-symbolsearchgoodwillplay-buttonpause-1 tickleft-arrow